Odds to win the 2008 Crowne Plaza Invitational

In 2007 it took two rounds of playoffs in the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial between Jim Furyk, Bernhard Langer, Rory Sabbatini and Scott Verplank before Sabbatini eventually won the day after making a birdie on the first playoff hole of the second session to win his fourth PGA Tour title. A year earlier, Tim Herron defeated Richard Johnson in a playoff. Prior to that there hadn’t been a playoff at Colonial since Bruce Lietzke and Corey Pavin squared off in 1992. 

Who’s to say what will happen in 2008 when the PGA returns to Fort Worth for the Crowne Plaza Invitational but oddsmakers at WagerWeb.com have installed 2000 winner Phil Mickelson the favorite with +325 odds. Mickelson is returning to Fort Worth for the first time since 2005. Mickelson was runner-up in defense of his 2000 title and was eighth in 1994, his only other top-10 finishes in 12 starts. 

Expected to provide some stiff competition is last years challenger Jim Furyk installed at WagerWeb with +600 odds. 

History is against Rory Sabbatini successfully defending his title at the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial this week. Since the inaugural event in 1946, only Ben Hogan has managed to return the following year and win. Sabbatini has been installed with +1500 odds.

Anthony Kim has the third best odds at +850 followed by Kenny Perry (+1100) and Sabbatini (+1500) rounding out the top five oddsmakers favorites. 

Odds to win the 2008 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial (May 22-25), Fort Worth. Odds provided by WagerWeb.com.

Phil Mickelson +325

Jim Furyk +600

Anthony Kim +850

Kenny Perry +1100

Rory Sabbatini +1500

Geoff Ogilvy +2000

K.J. Choi +2000

Stephen Ames +2000

Chad Campbell +2500

David Toms +2800

Justin Leonard +2800

Ben Crane +3500

Bart Bryant +4000

Arron Oberholser +4500

Briny Baird +4500

Heath Slocum +4500

Hunter Mahan +4500

Ian Poulter +4500

Jeff Quinney +4500 Pat Perez +4500

Rod Pampline +4500

Scott Verplank +4500

Steve Stricker +4500

D.J. Trahan +5000

Sean O’Hair +5000