|
Written by Thomas Jensen
|
|
Friday, 07 September 2007
|
|
Point-Spreads.com is the first to report that Bodog Entertainment, the international entertainment powerhouse founded by noted Canadian Billionaire Calvin Ayre, has licensed the brand, including the use of all Bodog domains and the Bodog trademark to Morris Mohawk Gaming Group for the operation and marketing of gaming in North America.
Morris Mohawk is headed by noted first nation leader Alwyn Morris, most known for winning two medals in kayaking in the 1984 Olympics and raising the symbolic eagle feather during the medal ceremony. For this feat, he was made a member of the Order of Canada, the country’s highest civilian honor in 1985. Since then he has been involved in numerous sport, civic and business endeavors to forward the position of aboriginals in Canada. He is currently Director of the Council of Chiefs for the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake, located on the South Shore of Montréal. “We could not have found a more perfect partner then Alwyn Morris and Morris Mohawk. Morris is a true Canadian hero,” said Calvin Ayre. “We are confident that Morris Mohawk will be able to give our North American customers the quality experience they have come to expect from Bodog.” “Our deal with Bodog is another great addition to the business community that has developed in Kahnawake,” added Morris. “Working with the top brand in the industry will further solidify the extensive experience, knowledge base and importance of this vertical.”
|
|
Last Updated ( Tuesday, 11 September 2007 )
|
|
Read more...
|
|
|
Written by Thomas Jensen
|
|
Thursday, 06 September 2007
|
I was fortunate enough to be a guest of Bodog Entertainment Founder Calvin Ayre’s for the filming of the next installment of the popular MMA fight series Bodog Fight in Vancouver. I got to spend the entire weekend before the Bodog.com domain name was hijacked with Ayre, Extra TV Host John Kelly and Gambling911 Publisher Christopher Costigan as we watched fight after fight and drank several beers in the process.
After an action packed weekend which found one member of our entourage deported for “not having the character suitable to enter Canada”, several MMA fighters with black eyes and me nursing two major hangovers in one weekend, I jetted off to Las Vegas to attend the 2007 VegasInsider.com Football Handicapping Seminar. Upon arrival at the Red Rock Casino, Resort & Spa after a 2 hour flight delay, I fired off an email to Calvin thanking him for a great weekend and proceeded to go to bed exhausted from the weekend.
As I woke up on Monday morning and checked my emails, I noticed my email message to Calvin bounced so I instantly went to the Bodog.com domain name and then over to CalvinAyre.com and could not access either. At first, I thought that the Red Rock was somehow blocking the domain name, but found out later that 1st Technology had received a $48 million dollar judgment against the Bodog.com and was able to successfully get the Washington based registrar to transfer the ownership away from the Bodog Nation. As the week progressed, all of the other domain names in the Bodog portfolio were seized.
|
|
Last Updated ( Thursday, 06 September 2007 )
|
|
Read more...
|
|
|
Written by Thomas Jensen
|
|
Wednesday, 05 September 2007
|
|
A gathering of some of the smartest minds in sports betting descended on beautiful Red Rock Canyon to attended the 2007 VegasInsider.com Football Handicapping Seminar on August 27th & 28th. The event was held at the Red Rock Casino, Resort & Spa in Las Vegas.
Art Manteris, the VP of Race & Sports Book Operations for Stations Casinos, opened up the football seminar to a packed house of over 300 attendees on Monday morning stating that "Peter Gold of VegasInsider.com has single handily worked to provide more of a flow of information from the Las Vegas Sportsbooks to the general public than anyone else in the history of sports betting in America."
The entire VegasInsider.com team continued to deliver on Manteris's statement at the formerly annual event (VI has not held a handicapping seminar for about five years). It took four convention halls at Red Rock Resort, Casino & Spa to hold everyone. Hundreds of everyday Nevada based sports bettors as well as some of the nation's leading sports handicappers showed up.
“The event exceeded our expectations on all levels,” stated Peter Gold, Executive VP/General Manager of VegasInsider.com. “It has been several years since we’ve conducted a seminar so we did not know what the response would be. Needless to say, we were overwhelmed when we reached capacity only two weeks into promotions, so instead of limiting the number of attendees we just moved to larger conference facilities. We also broke with long-standing protocol of only inviting VI handicappers to participate – our goal was simply to put on a “best of the best” type of event without ego or competition coming into play. The result was a great cross-section of the top handicappers, writers, analysts, professional bettors and media figures; perhaps the best ‘grouping’ ever.”
|
|
Last Updated ( Thursday, 06 September 2007 )
|
|
Read more...
|
|
|
Written by Thomas Jensen
|
|
Friday, 31 August 2007
|
Turns out we were wrong when we reported that opportunist Mel Molnick stole the Bodog.com domain name from Calvin Ayre's Bodog Entertainment, sorry Mel. Instead, Scott Lewis PhD. from Silicon Valley fame actually took control of the Bodog domain name portfolio after receiving a $48 million dollar default judgment against the online betting giant earlier this month.
To Calvin’s credit, his team was able to get everything migrated over to NewBodog.com within 12 hours of the domain name being seized. Point-Spreads.com has confirmed with both players and affiliates that its business as usual via the new domain names.
It still looks like Bodog Entertainment will have to pay some sort of royalty or licensing payment to 1st Technology to settle the dispute despite Ayre's claim that they will fight the judgment. Other companies within the online gambling industry are already paying royalty payments via a licensing agreement to 1st Technology LLC including internet gambling software vendors Playtech Ltd, WagerWorks.com (A ITG Company) & Chartwell Technology Inc. Ironically enough, Bodog models themselves after the holding company of a Chartwell licensee Virgin Games, which is owned by Richard Branson’s Virgin.
Back in February 2005, 1st Technology reached a settlement agreement with LasVegasFromHome.com Entertainment. As part of the agreement, LVFH was required to pay 1st Technology a measly $90,000 dollars as a settlement. LVFH sold its US facing brand ActionPoker.com to Playsafe Holdings AS once UIGEA was signed into law. It is unknown at this time if Playsafe Holdings is paying a licensing or royalty fee to 1st Technology. But Point-Spreads.com has learned that some of Playsafe’s current licensees under their Action Poker Network and poker players are both not receiving payments from the Norwegian based gaming investment company.
|
|
Last Updated ( Friday, 31 August 2007 )
|
|
Read more...
|
|
|
Written by Thomas Jensen
|
|
Friday, 31 August 2007
|
A Point-Spreads.com source claims that Playsafe Holdings AS owe at least one licensee $16,518.00 in rake and poker players of the licensee to the tune of $55,314.17 since March 2007. Besides the apparent stiff job, Playsafe Holdings allegedly continued to run the licensee’s poker room after it was supposed to be closed in March 2007 and stopped sending reconciliation reports after closing off the licensees access to the admin panel.
The licensee in question did not not choose to join the Action Poker Network. Playsafe Holdings AS bought the US facing assets of LasVegasFromHome.com (LVFH), the poker network the licensee was already on. Once the deal was announced, the licensee decided to move to another competing poker network.
ActionPoker.com is 100% owned by Playsafe Holding AS, a internet gaming investment company based in Norway. Playsafe is listed on the Norwegian OTC under the stock symbol PLAY and services such poker brands as Nine.com, Youwager.com, English Harbor Poker and JimFeistPoker.com.
It states on their poker website that:
|
|
Last Updated ( Friday, 31 August 2007 )
|
|
Read more...
|
|
|
|
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next > End >>
|
| Results 91 - 120 of 196 |